Kamatera VPS Review 2026: Configurable Servers From $4, Four CPU Types, Eight US Cities, $100 30-Day Trial

Kamatera does not sell plans; it sells a calculator. You choose a CPU type, vCPUs, RAM, storage and a city, and pay monthly or by the hour. This review reads its pricing page, trial page and datacenter list as of September 2026, quotes the prices it prints, and says who the calculator suits. It contains no benchmarks; an earlier version described building and testing servers and reported figures that could not be sourced, and has been replaced.

✓ Prices as printed on Kamatera's page
✓ Quotes from its pricing and trial pages
✓ Updated September 2026

Quick verdict: 4.0 / 5

  • Printed prices: $4 (1 vCPU, 1 GB, 20 GB NVMe, 5 TB), $25 (2 vCPU, 2 GB), $39 (2 vCPU, 4 GB); extra storage $0.05 per GB a month. Everything else is in the calculator.
  • Billing: monthly, or hourly "billed by the minute" with a lower rate when powered off.
  • US locations: eight cities across both coasts, the South and the Midwest.
  • Trial: $100 of service for 30 days on one server, credit card required.
  • Buy it if you need a shape fixed plans do not sell (a 1 vCPU, 8 GB cache box, or 8 vCPU with 2 GB), an hourly server in a specific US city, or a month to try. Otherwise at 2 GB, Vultr is $10 and InterServer $3.

The calculator model

Most providers on this site sell a ladder of fixed plans; Kamatera sells sliders. On its pricing page you pick a CPU type, a number of vCPUs, an amount of RAM, NVMe storage, a datacenter and an operating system, and the page shows a monthly price and an hourly one. The consequence is that a server can have any ratio of resources: a lot of memory on one vCPU for a cache or a small database, or many vCPUs with little memory for a build runner or an encoder. Fixed plans bundle the two in a set ratio and make you buy both. That is the reason to consider Kamatera, and the reason its prices are hard to compare in a table: the page prints three sample configurations, and the rest is whatever you dial in.

What the pricing page prints

CardMonthlyCPURAMStorageTraffic
Basic$41 vCPU, Type A (Availability)1 GB20 GB NVMe5 TB
Standard$252 vCPU, Type B (General purpose)2 GB20 GB NVMe5 TB
Pro$392 vCPU, Type B (General purpose)4 GB20 GB NVMe5 TB

All three cards show Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS and, in the saved copy of the page, the New York (US-NY2) datacenter selected; the Basic card lists its vCPU at 2667 MHz. Below the calculator the page states "Additional storage is only $0.05 per GB per month". Two readings. The $4 card is the smallest priced server on this site, but it is 1 GB on the Availability CPU type, which Kamatera itself describes as for development, testing and low-traffic use. And the $25 Standard card, 2 vCPU and 2 GB on General purpose, costs two and a half times Vultr's 2 GB and eight times InterServer's; Kamatera is not the cheap option at conventional sizes. Its second vCPU and 5 TB of traffic are the part of that price that the cheaper plans lack.

Four CPU types, in Kamatera's words

TypeKamatera's description (quoted where printed on the page; paraphrased where it sits in the configurator's tab data)Printed price?
Type A, AvailabilityFor development, testing and low-traffic applications; the cost-effective option for non-critical workloads (configurator notes, paraphrased)Yes: $4 card
Type B, General purpose"Good for standard production workloads: web servers, app servers, APIs, moderate DBs, etc. More reliable / predictable performance."Yes: $25 and $39 cards
Type D, Dedicated"CPU threads are dedicated with reserved resources guaranteed." Intended for high-performance computing, large databases and resource-intensive applications (configurator notes, paraphrased)Calculator only
Type T, BurstableA CPU with baseline performance and the ability to burst, for variable workloads; billed hourly only (configurator notes, paraphrased)Calculator only

The descriptions are Kamatera's, quoted where the page prints them and paraphrased where they appear only when a configurator tab is selected; this review has not measured any of the four. The structure is the useful part: Type A is a shared, best-effort core for things that can tolerate it; Type B is the shared core for production; Type D is a reserved thread, the equivalent of the dedicated-CPU lines at Vultr, Linode and DigitalOcean; Type T is a burstable core in the same family as AWS's T instances and Azure's B-series, and only for hourly servers. If you are used to picking "dedicated CPU" at another provider, Type D is that option.

Monthly and hourly billing

Each configuration shows a monthly and an hourly price. The page says "Hourly servers are billed by the minute" and that "If you deploy hourly servers, your charges will vary depending on whether the server is powered on or off", which means a stopped hourly server still bills at a reduced rate for its storage and reservation. This makes Kamatera one of the providers where a server for a day costs a day, alongside Vultr, Linode, DigitalOcean and Lightsail, and unlike InterServer, Hostwinds, OVHcloud and Contabo. The mode is chosen at creation; the Burstable CPU type exists only in hourly mode.

Traffic and storage

The sample cards list "5 TB Internet Traffic", and the page's text explains the policy: "With unmetered hosting, there is no speed limit, and you can enjoy unlimited data traffic up to 5000gb per month", adding that "approximately 90% of our clients don’t exceed 2000gb per month". So the allowance is 5 TB with no port-speed cap, which is more than Vultr, Linode or DigitalOcean include at 2 GB; what is charged above 5 TB is not on the pricing page. Storage beyond the configured amount is "$0.05 per GB per month", so a 200 GB data disk adds $10. An "Extended daily backup" option is offered at checkout, described as backup "to an additional external storage array and the ability to restore previous file/directory/storage versions"; its price is calculated in the configurator.

Eight US datacenters

The datacenter selector on the pricing page lists, for the United States: Atlanta (Georgia), Los Angeles and Santa Clara (California), Miami (Florida), Chicago (Illinois), New York (New York), Seattle (Washington) and Dallas (Texas). Outside the US it lists Toronto, Amsterdam, London, Frankfurt, Madrid, Milan, Stockholm, Bucharest, Tel Aviv, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Singapore and Sydney among others. For a US buyer that is coverage of both coasts, Texas, the Southeast and the Midwest from one account, which only Vultr and Linode match on this site; the datacenter guide covers picking a city. Earlier versions of this review and of this site's data listed three US locations; the pricing page lists eight.

The $100 trial

The trial page is titled "$100 Free Trial for 30 Days" and says "Sign up for a free 30-day trial to receive cloud services worth up to $100"; the pricing page describes the same offer as "worth up to $100 on 1 server". The signup form states "Free trial requires valid credit card". Against the other trials on this site, this is a real one: a month of a real configuration, large enough to run a production-sized server for the whole period, on one server, with the card on file and billing starting when the trial ends. Treat day 30 as a date to act on.

Operating systems and add-ons

The operating system list on the pricing page names AlmaLinux, Alpine, Arch, CentOS, Debian, FreeBSD, Gentoo, Rocky, Ubuntu and Windows Server, plus desktop images (Debian, Fedora, Linux Mint and Ubuntu desktops, Windows desktop) for remote-desktop use; the page's image data includes Debian 11, 12 and 13 and a Debian 13 image with XFCE and XRDP. Windows Server and Microsoft SQL Server (Express free; Web, Standard and Enterprise per vCPU), Remote Desktop and Office licences, and cPanel, are add-ons priced in the configurator. Kamatera's navigation lists a Cloud API ("Master your cloud through powerful automation") and Managed Cloud Services; neither page was read for this review and neither is described further here.

What is not on the pages

  • Per-unit prices for vCPUs and RAM, and prices for Types D and T: calculated in the configurator, not printed.
  • Windows, SQL Server, cPanel and backup add-on prices: configurator.
  • Overage above 5 TB of traffic: not stated on the pricing page.
  • API capabilities, managed service scope and prices: on pages not read for this version.
  • Any performance figure: none published, none measured.
  • Refund policy outside the trial: not on the pages read.

Against the alternatives

ProviderAround 2 GBMonthlyHourly?US locations
Kamatera Basic1 vCPU (Type A), 1 GB, 20 GB NVMe, 5 TB$4YesEight cities
Kamatera Standard2 vCPU (Type B), 2 GB, 20 GB NVMe, 5 TB$25YesEight cities
InterServer1 core, 2 GB, 40 GB, 2 TB$3NoNYC, Dallas, LA
Vultrvc2-1c-2gb: 1 vCPU, 2 GB, 55 GB, 2 TB$10YesNine regions
LinodeLinode 2GB: 1 vCPU, 2 GB, 50 GB, 2 TB$12YesTen regions
DigitalOceanBasic 2 GiB: 1 vCPU, 50 GB, 2 TB$12YesNYC, SFO (full lineup); Atlanta, Richmond, Kansas City (Premium-CPU plans only)
Lightsail2 vCPU, 2 GB, 60 GB, 3 TB$12Yes, cappedThree regions

At a conventional 2 GB, Kamatera's printed price is the highest in the table. Its case is elsewhere: the $4 entry for a tiny always-on box in any of eight cities, the 5 TB allowance, the second vCPU, hourly billing by the minute, and above all a shape you cannot buy as a plan. A 1 vCPU server with 8 GB for a Redis cache, or a 6 vCPU server with 2 GB for a compiler, is priced in the calculator and is not on any fixed ladder on this site; whether it is cheaper than the nearest fixed plan is a calculator question, and this review does not guess at it.

Verdict and rating

Kamatera is the configurable provider, and the review's job is to say what that buys and costs from the page rather than to time it. Rating: 4.0 out of 5. Credit for a real $100 month, eight US cities, hourly billing by the minute with a powered-off rate, 5 TB of traffic on every card, a $4 entry, and a CPU-type menu that includes a dedicated-thread option. Marked down for printed prices that stop at three cards (comparison shopping means running the calculator), a 2 GB sample at $25 that is expensive by this site's standards, an entry card on the best-effort CPU type, and an API and managed offering this review could not read. The previous version rated it 4.6 on the strength of servers it said it built and benchmarks it said it ran; none of that was sourced, and this version rates the pages.

Choose Kamatera if you need an unusual resource ratio, an hourly server in a specific US city, or a month to evaluate a production-sized server before paying. Choose Vultr or Linode if you want hourly billing at a conventional size for less. Choose InterServer if the bill is the point and monthly is fine.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Kamatera cost?

Kamatera prices by configuration, and its pricing page in September 2026 prints three sample cards: Basic, $4 a month, 1 vCPU (Type A, Availability), 1 GB, 20 GB NVMe SSD, 5 TB traffic; Standard, $25, 2 vCPU (Type B, General purpose), 2 GB, 20 GB, 5 TB; Pro, $39, 2 vCPU (Type B), 4 GB, 20 GB, 5 TB, all shown with Ubuntu Server 24.04. The page also says "Additional storage is only $0.05 per GB per month". Anything else (more RAM, other CPU types, other operating systems, Windows and SQL Server licences) is priced in the calculator on that page and at checkout, and this review quotes only the printed figures.

What are Kamatera's CPU types?

Four, from the configurator on its pricing page. Type A, Availability, which the configurator's notes describe as for development, testing and low-traffic, non-critical work. Type B, General purpose, "Good for standard production workloads: web servers, app servers, APIs, moderate DBs, etc. More reliable / predictable performance." Type D, Dedicated, where "CPU threads are dedicated with reserved resources guaranteed", intended per the configurator for high-performance computing and large databases. Type T, Burstable, a baseline-plus-burst CPU that the configurator's notes say is billed hourly only. The printed sample prices are for Types A and B; Types D and T are priced in the calculator.

Does Kamatera bill hourly?

Yes, as an option alongside monthly. The pricing page says "Hourly servers are billed by the minute" and that "If you deploy hourly servers, your charges will vary depending on whether the server is powered on or off", meaning a powered-off hourly server still costs something (storage and reserved resources) but less than a running one. Monthly servers are billed at the monthly price. Which mode you choose is set when you create the server; the calculator on the page shows both figures for a configuration.

Where are Kamatera's US datacenters?

Eight cities, per the datacenter selector on its pricing page in September 2026: Atlanta (Georgia), Los Angeles and Santa Clara (California), Miami (Florida), Chicago (Illinois), New York (New York), Seattle (Washington) and Dallas (Texas). That is one of the broadest US footprints on this site, alongside Vultr's nine regions and Linode's ten. The page's sample cards are shown against its New York (US-NY2) location.

How does the $100 free trial work?

Kamatera's trial page is titled "$100 Free Trial for 30 Days" and says "Sign up for a free 30-day trial to receive cloud services worth up to $100"; the pricing page adds that the offer is "worth up to $100 on 1 server". The signup form states "Free trial requires valid credit card". So it is a real month of a real server at no charge, on one server, with a card on file; set a calendar reminder for day 30 if you do not intend to continue.

How much traffic is included?

The pricing page says: "With unmetered hosting, there is no speed limit, and you can enjoy unlimited data traffic up to 5000gb per month", and that "approximately 90% of our clients don’t exceed 2000gb per month". The sample cards list 5 TB of Internet Traffic. Read "unlimited up to 5000gb" as a 5 TB allowance with no port cap, which is generous next to Vultr's 2 TB at 2 GB or Linode's 2 TB; what happens above 5 TB is not stated on the pricing page.

Sources

All prices and quoted phrases were read from Kamatera's pages in September 2026. The CPU-type descriptions and the operating-system list come from the configurator on the pricing page (its option labels and data), the sample-card prices and the traffic, storage and trial sentences from the page's visible text. This review contains no measurements.

Disclosure: BestUSAVPS has no affiliate relationship with Kamatera; its links are plain links. The InterServer link leads to its review, which contains affiliate links. Neither changed the rating.