Linode (Akamai) Specs (2026): Seven Plan Classes and What the API Publishes

Akamai's Linode is the only provider on this site whose entire catalogue can be read without a login: the types API returns every instance with its memory, cores, disk, transfer, network speed and both prices. This page sets out what that data says in September 2026, class by class, along with where each class is actually available across the ten US regions. This site measures nothing.

✓ Figures from Akamai's public APIs
✓ Arithmetic labelled as arithmetic
✓ No measurements

Short answer

  • Cheapest: Nanode 1GB at $5 a month, 1 vCPU, 1 GB, 25 GB, 1 TB of transfer, available in all ten US regions.
  • Most memory per dollar: High Memory, 48 GB for $120 on 2 vCPUs and a 40 GB disk.
  • Reserved cores: dedicated CPU from $36 (4 GB on 2 cores), with 32 GB on 16 cores at $288.
  • Published network speed: 1 Gbit/s on the Nanode rising to 16 Gbit/s on the GPU and Accelerated classes.
  • What to watch: the specialised classes are not in all ten US regions, and the g8 dedicated generation has no published prices.

1. The seven classes

Every instance in the catalogue belongs to one of seven classes, and the class is what tells you which resource is being sold. Counts and price ranges below are from the types API in September 2026; the US region column is from the availability API and is explained in section 5.

ClassPlansMonthlyWhat it sellsUS regions
Nanode1$5The single smallest instance: 1 vCPU, 1 GB, 25 GB.10 of 10
Shared CPU9$12 to $1,152The general-purpose ladder from 2 GB to 192 GB, up to 32 vCPUs.10 of 10
High Memory5$60 to $960Memory first: 24 GB to 300 GB on 2 to 16 vCPUs, with thin disks.9 of 10
Premium CPU8$43 to $2,765The same ladder shape as Shared CPU on newer processors, at roughly 1.8 times the price.6 of 10
Dedicated CPU33$36 to $2,765Reserved cores: 4 GB on 2 cores up to 256 GB on 56. Priced for the g6 and g7 generations; the 17 g8 types return no price.3 to 10
GPU13not publishedRTX 4000 Ada and RTX 6000 instances, one to four GPUs.0 to 2
Accelerated6$280 to $2,816NETINT video-processing cards, one to eight per instance.1 of 10

Forty-five of the 75 types carry a price in the API, and 30 do not: all 13 GPU types return a null monthly figure, as do the 17 g8 dedicated types. The dedicated price range in that table therefore comes from the g6 and g7 generations, which is the part of the line a buyer can price from the API alone.

2. The Shared CPU ladder

Ten types, from the Nanode to the 192 GB instance. Prices, cores, memory, disk and the two network figures are exactly as the API returns them.

TypeNameMonthlyHourlyvCPUMemoryDiskTransferNetwork out (Mbit/s)
g6-nanode-1Nanode 1GB50.007511 GB25 GB1 TB1,000
g6-standard-1Linode 2GB120.01812 GB50 GB2 TB2,000
g6-standard-2Linode 4GB240.03624 GB80 GB4 TB4,000
g6-standard-4Linode 8GB480.07248 GB160 GB5 TB5,000
g6-standard-6Linode 16GB960.144616 GB320 GB8 TB6,000
g6-standard-8Linode 32GB1920.288832 GB640 GB16 TB7,000
g6-standard-16Linode 64GB3840.5761664 GB1280 GB20 TB9,000
g6-standard-20Linode 96GB5760.8642096 GB1920 GB20 TB10,000
g6-standard-24Linode 128GB7681.15224128 GB2560 GB20 TB11,000
g6-standard-32Linode 192GB11521.72832192 GB3840 GB20 TB12,000

The ladder is close to linear on memory and better than linear on disk: doubling from 32 GB to 64 GB doubles the price and the disk, and the transfer allowance stops growing above 64 GB, where four plans share the same 20 TB. The 2 GB entry at $12 is the size the storage page uses to compare what providers publish about their disks.

3. High Memory, Premium CPU and dedicated CPU

High Memory buys memory and gives up everything else: 48 GB arrives on 2 vCPUs with a 40 GB disk, so it is a cache or an in-memory index rather than a database host. The 32 GB page uses the 48 GB entry as the cheapest way to hold a large working set on this provider.

TypeNameMonthlyHourlyvCPUMemoryDiskTransferNetwork out (Mbit/s)
g7-highmem-1Linode 24GB600.09224 GB20 GB5 TB5,000
g7-highmem-2Linode 48GB1200.18248 GB40 GB6 TB6,000
g7-highmem-4Linode 90GB2400.36490 GB90 GB7 TB7,000
g7-highmem-8Linode 150GB4800.728150 GB200 GB8 TB8,000
g7-highmem-16Linode 300GB9601.4416300 GB340 GB9 TB9,000

Premium CPU is the shared shape on newer processors, at roughly 1.8 times the price for the same cores, memory and disk: $43 against $24 at 4 GB, $346 against $192 at 32 GB. The API does not name the processor in either class, so what "premium" buys is stated by class rather than by model.

TypeNameMonthlyHourlyvCPUMemoryDiskTransferNetwork out (Mbit/s)
g7-premium-2Premium 4GB430.064524 GB80 GB4 TB4,000
g7-premium-4Premium 8GB860.12948 GB160 GB5 TB5,000
g7-premium-8Premium 16GB1730.2595816 GB320 GB6 TB6,000
g7-premium-16Premium 32GB3460.5191632 GB640 GB7 TB7,000
g7-premium-32Premium 64GB6911.03653264 GB1280 GB8 TB8,000
g7-premium-48Premium 96GB10371.55554896 GB1920 GB9 TB9,000
g7-premium-50Premium 128GB13822.07350128 GB2500 GB10 TB10,000
g7-premium-56Premium 256GB27654.147556256 GB5000 GB11 TB11,000

Dedicated CPU reserves the cores for one instance, at double the cores for the same memory: 32 GB on 16 dedicated cores at $288 against 32 GB on 8 shared cores at $192. The class also carries a g7 generation, and in the API it is the Premium ladder above under a second label: g7-dedicated-32-16 and g7-premium-16 are both $346 for 16 vCPUs, 32 GB, 640 GB and a 7,000 Mbit/s network figure, and the two ladders match plan for plan down to the transfer allowance. The g8 generation is listed without prices. That is the line to price against a bare-metal server, which the dedicated CPU page and the cloud versus bare metal comparison both do.

TypeNameMonthlyHourlyvCPUMemoryDiskTransferNetwork out (Mbit/s)
g6-dedicated-2Dedicated 4GB360.05424 GB80 GB4 TB4,000
g6-dedicated-4Dedicated 8GB720.10848 GB160 GB5 TB5,000
g6-dedicated-8Dedicated 16GB1440.216816 GB320 GB6 TB6,000
g6-dedicated-16Dedicated 32GB2880.4321632 GB640 GB7 TB7,000
g6-dedicated-32Dedicated 64GB5760.8643264 GB1280 GB8 TB8,000
g6-dedicated-48Dedicated 96GB8641.2964896 GB1920 GB9 TB9,000
g6-dedicated-50Dedicated 128GB11521.72850128 GB2500 GB10 TB10,000
g6-dedicated-56Dedicated 256GB23043.45656256 GB5000 GB11 TB11,000

4. Network speed, which Linode publishes per plan

Most providers on this site state a port speed for a product line, or nothing at all. Akamai's API carries a network_out figure for every instance type, and it is a per-plan number rather than a line-wide claim: 1,000 on the Nanode, then 2,000, 4,000, 5,000, 6,000, 7,000, 9,000, 10,000, 11,000 and 12,000 up the shared ladder, 4,000 to 11,000 on dedicated CPU, and 16,000 on every GPU and Accelerated type. The unit is Mbit/s, so the range is 1 to 16 Gbit/s.

Two cautions in reading it. The figure describes the instance's network allowance and the API does not say what it is shared with, which is why the network page treats published port speeds as a ceiling rather than a promise. And the transfer allowance in the table above is a separate limit: the shared ladder keeps growing its network figure past 64 GB while the transfer allowance stays at 20 TB.

5. Where each class is available

The availability API returns 2,475 pairs, one for every combination of 33 regions and 75 types, and 750 of those pairs are in the ten US regions; 389 of the 750 are available. Counting the types available in each region gives a picture that the price tables alone do not show.

RegionCityTypes available
us-ordChicago69 of 75
us-seaSeattle65 of 75
us-iad-2Washington 256 of 75
us-iadWashington DC39 of 75
us-miaMiami39 of 75
us-laxLos Angeles39 of 75
us-eastNewark24 of 75
us-centralDallas23 of 75
us-southeastAtlanta23 of 75
us-westFremont12 of 75

Read by class instead of by region, the split is wider. The Nanode and all nine Shared CPU types are in every one of the ten US regions. High Memory is in nine. Premium CPU is in six. Dedicated CPU ranges from three regions for some g8 generations to ten for the g6 types. GPU is in two or fewer, and the Accelerated class is in one. So the plan a buyer picks from the cheap end of the price table can be ordered almost anywhere, while a specialised instance may mean taking the region that has it rather than the region nearest the users. The US datacenter guide maps which city suits which coast.

6. The hourly rate and the monthly cap

Every type with a price carries two: an hourly rate and a monthly one. The relationship holds across the 45 priced types and the tables above show it in full: the monthly figure is the hourly rate multiplied by 666.67 on 43 of them, and the two exceptions are Accelerated instances where the printed hourly rate is rounded to two decimals ($0.53 against $352, $0.73 against $488). On the Nanode, $0.0075 an hour is $5.00 a month. On Linode 32GB, $0.288 is $192. On the 256 GB dedicated instance, $3.456 is $2,304.

666.67 hours is 27.8 days, which means the printed monthly price is a ceiling on what a month can cost rather than 30 days of the hourly rate. The billing documentation was not read for this page, so how the cap is applied at the end of a month is not stated here. What the API does establish is that both numbers are published for every plan, so a reader comparing an instance that will run for a week against one that will run for a year can do that arithmetic from the API alone.

7. What Linode does not publish

  • A processor model. The API gives a class name and, for Premium, the word premium; the processor behind it is not named.
  • Disk IOPS or throughput. Disk size is published; its speed is not.
  • Prices for the g8 dedicated generation (17 of the 33 dedicated types) or for any of the 13 GPU types. Both return a null monthly figure in the API.
  • What the per-plan network figure is shared with. network_out is a per-instance number with no host-level context.
  • The billing cap's mechanics, on the API pages read for this one.

8. Measuring the parts that are not published

The processor, the disk and the achievable throughput are all measurable on the instance itself, and the method is the same one used across this site: lscpu for the CPU model, sysbench cpu --threads=1 --time=60 run for single-thread speed, a 4K fio run for the disk, and iperf3 against a machine near your users for the network. The benchmarks hub has the commands and the reasoning, the storage page compares what other providers publish, and the Linode review covers how the classes compare with the rest of this site.

Hourly billing is what makes that cheap here rather than a month-long commitment: an instance can be created, measured and deleted inside an afternoon, and the only figure the API does not give you in advance is the one you are trying to measure.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Linode instance cost?

Akamai's types API lists 75 instance types in September 2026, and the shared-CPU ladder runs Nanode 1GB at $5 a month (1 vCPU, 1 GB, 25 GB, 1 TB of transfer) through Linode 2GB at $12, 4 GB at $24, 8 GB at $48, 16 GB at $96, 32 GB at $192, 64 GB at $384 and 192 GB at $1,152. The three specialised ladders start elsewhere: High Memory at $60 for 24 GB, Premium CPU at $43 for 4 GB, and dedicated CPU at $36 for 4 GB on two reserved cores. Every one of those carries an hourly rate beside it.

What is the difference between the classes?

What the money is spent on. Shared CPU is the general-purpose ladder and the cheapest way to buy memory and disk. High Memory gives up disk and cores to buy memory: 48 GB arrives with 2 vCPUs and a 40 GB disk. Premium CPU is the same ladder shape as Shared on newer processors for about 1.8 times the price ($43 against $24 at 4 GB). Dedicated CPU reserves the cores: 32 GB on 16 cores at $288 against 32 GB on 8 shared cores at $192. GPU and Accelerated classes are for specific hardware rather than general hosting.

Does Linode publish a network speed?

Yes, per plan, which is unusual: the types API carries a network_out field for every instance, and it rises with the plan. The Nanode is listed at 1,000, the shared-CPU ladder runs 1,000 to 12,000, dedicated CPU 4,000 to 11,000, and the GPU and Accelerated classes are listed at 16,000. The unit is Mbit/s, so the practical range on this page is 1 Gbit/s to 16 Gbit/s per instance. The transfer allowance is a separate field and a separate limit.

Which Linode plans are available in US regions?

It depends on the class. Akamai's availability API lists ten US regions, and the Nanode and the whole Shared CPU ladder are available in all ten. High Memory is in nine. Premium CPU is in six. Dedicated CPU ranges from three regions for some generations to ten. GPU is in two or fewer, and the Accelerated class is in one. Read the other way, Chicago offers 69 of the 75 types and Seattle 65, while Fremont offers 12 and Dallas, Atlanta and Newark offer 23 or 24. The common plans are everywhere; the specialised ones are in one or two places.

Does Linode bill hourly?

Both prices are published for each of the 45 types that carry a price. The arithmetic is exact and the same everywhere: the monthly figure is the hourly rate multiplied by 666.67, so $5.00 against $0.0075 an hour on the Nanode and $192 against $0.288 on Linode 32GB. That is 27.8 days of hourly billing, which means the printed monthly price is a cap rather than 30 days of the hourly rate. The billing documentation was not read for this page, so the exact mechanism is not stated here; the ratio is arithmetic on the API's own two fields, and it holds exactly on 43 of the 45.

What does Linode not publish?

A processor model per plan: the API gives each type a class (standard, highmem, premium, dedicated, gpu, accelerated) and the Premium class says newer hardware without naming it. Disk IOPS and throughput are absent, as they are at most providers on this site. The g8 dedicated generation is in the API without prices, so only the g6 dedicated ladder can be priced here. And nothing in the API states what an instance's network_out is shared with, which is the question the network page takes up across providers.

Sources

Every price, specification, network figure and availability count on this page comes from Akamai's public Linode APIs, read on 2026-09-27. The hourly-to-monthly ratios in section 6 are arithmetic on the two prices the API returns, and the transfer column is the API's transfer field shown as the round allowance the plan is sold at, which is the field multiplied by 1.024: the API returns 1,000 for the Nanode, sold as 1 TB, and 1,953.125 for the 2 GB instance, sold as 2 TB. This site publishes no measurements.