IONOS VPS Specs and Prices (2026): What IONOS Publishes, by Plan

Everything on this page is a figure IONOS states on its own VPS pages, read in September 2026. Where IONOS publishes nothing (per-plan CPU model, disk IOPS, which US city runs the VPS product), this page says so rather than filling the gap. The IONOS review covers the buying decision.

✓ Published figures only
✓ Promotional and regular prices separated
✓ Updated September 2026

Short answer

  • Entry plan: VPS S+, 1 vCore, 2 GB, 60 GB NVMe, $6 a month, advertised at $2 for the first three months on a one-year term.
  • Network: unlimited traffic on a connection IONOS states as up to 1 Gbps.
  • Storage: NVMe on every plan, described as Samsung NVMe SSD in Dell enterprise servers.
  • Availability: IONOS states "99.99%+ uptime"; this site does not monitor it.
  • Terms: a 30-day money-back guarantee, then month-to-month or yearly.
  • Not published: CPU model per plan, disk IOPS, and which US city hosts VPS+.

1. The five plans and both prices

IONOS advertises a promotional price and prints the regular one beside it. Both are below, because the difference is the whole story of the first year: the promotional rate runs for three months on a one-year term, and months four to twelve are at the regular rate.

PlanvCores / RAM / storagePromotional (first 3 months, 1-year term)Regular monthlyFirst-year total at the advertised terms
VPS S+1 / 2 GB / 60 GB NVMe$2$6$60
VPS M+2 / 4 GB / 120 GB NVMe$5$14$141
VPS L+4 / 8 GB / 240 GB NVMe$8$25$249
VPS XL+8 / 16 GB / 480 GB NVMe$14$47$465
VPS XXL+12 / 24 GB / 720 GB NVMe$20$68$672

Plans, specifications and both prices from IONOS's VPS page, September 2026. The last column is arithmetic on those two figures (three promotional months plus nine regular months); IONOS does not print a first-year total, and state and local taxes are added at checkout per its note.

Read the ladder rather than the entry price: the S+ plan at $6 regular is priced against InterServer's 2 GB slice at $3 and DigitalOcean's 2 GiB Droplet at $12, and the L+ at $25 regular buys 8 GB where Contabo's introductory Cloud VPS 4 buys the same memory for $6.60. Where IONOS is distinctive is not the price per gigabyte but what comes with it: unlimited traffic, NVMe on every plan, and a refund window.

2. Network: unlimited traffic, 1 Gbps port

IONOS publishes both halves of the network question, which most VPS hosts at this price do not. Its feature paragraph: "Transfer as much data as you need with a 1 Gbps connection. No extra charges, no matter how much your traffic grows." Its specification list repeats the figure as "External server connection up to 1 Gbps" alongside "Unlimited traffic". Every plan also gets "IPv4 & IPv6 dual stack" and "Active DDoS protection".

Against the providers on the network page: Contabo's entry plan is a 200 Mbit/s port with unlimited traffic, OVHcloud's entry plan is 500 Mbit/s with unlimited traffic, and Vultr's $5 plan is a 1 TB allowance with no published port figure. IONOS's 1 Gbps with no allowance is the most generous pairing at the entry level among the providers this site tracks, on paper. What none of them publishes, IONOS included, is a typical sustained figure.

3. Hardware and storage

IONOS names the hardware in general terms: "Every VPS+ runs on the latest AMD and Intel CPUs with Samsung NVMe SSD storage, housed in Dell enterprise servers", and lists the storage system as "SSD NVMe". It does not publish a processor model per plan, a clock speed, or any disk IOPS or throughput figure. The storage specifications page puts that in context: only the hyperscalers publish disk performance numbers, and every plan-priced host on this site states a storage type and nothing more.

On availability IONOS states "99.99%+ uptime", describing it as delivered "through redundant infrastructure and intelligent system architecture". That is a vendor statement, not a measurement; this site does not monitor uptime and the previous version of this page reported a 90-day figure that was not measured.

4. Datacentres

Two IONOS pages answer this at different resolutions. The VPS feature table lists "Data center locations United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Spain". IONOS CLOUD's datacentre page names the individual sites, and the US ones are Las Vegas (NV), Newark (NJ) and Lenexa (KS), with European sites in Frankfurt, Berlin, Paris, London, Worcester and LogroƱo.

The two lists are for different products: the cities are IONOS CLOUD's, and the VPS+ page does not say which of them serves VPS+. If your choice depends on a specific city (latency to a user base, a data residency requirement), confirm it with IONOS before ordering rather than relying on either list. The low-latency page covers how to measure once you have a server.

5. What is included, and what costs extra

  • Included per IONOS's feature list: full root access, unlimited traffic, NVMe storage, DDoS protection, a customisable firewall with IPS/IDS, a wildcard SSL certificate, IPv4 and IPv6, "High-Speed Images" (point-in-time server images for rollback), one-click installation of free applications, VM cloning, and 24/7 support including an AI assistant.
  • Optional, priced: Cloud Backup "From $0.065/GB/month", block storage, object storage ("S3-compatible"), a load balancer, a private network and additional VMs. IONOS describes the additional VMs as "pay only for what you use, without any upfront costs or commitment".

The images feature is worth noting against the rest of this site's coverage: a point-in-time rollback is exactly what InterServer does not advertise, and the reason the InterServer backup guide has to build one by hand.

6. Trial, refund and contract

IONOS's VPS USA page: "At IONOS, your US VPS includes a free trial for 30 days, so that you can make sure that we're the right service for you. If you're not happy you'll get your money back, no questions asked! Check out our API, basic server performance, and the scope of our services risk-free. Once you're certain that VPS is right for you, you can choose from month-to-month or yearly contracts." The plan list states the same window as a "30-day money-back guarantee".

That window is the practical answer to everything this page cannot tell you. The CPU model, the disk speed and the throughput from IONOS to your users are all measurable in an afternoon on a server you can return; the benchmarks hub has the commands.

7. What IONOS does not publish

  • A processor model or generation per plan. "The latest AMD and Intel CPUs" is the whole statement.
  • Disk IOPS or throughput. NVMe is a storage type, not a rate.
  • Which US city serves VPS+. The country is published; the city is not.
  • Hourly billing. The published terms are monthly and yearly.
  • A sustained network figure. The 1 Gbps is the connection, and IONOS does not state an expectation the way Hetzner does.

8. How the published figures compare

ProviderEntry planNetworkRefund window
IONOS1 vCore, 2 GB, 60 GB NVMe, $6 ($2 promotional)Unlimited traffic, up to 1 Gbps30 days
InterServer1 core, 2 GB, 40 GB SSD, $32 TB on a shared 10 Gbps portNone stated
Contabo4 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB SSD, $6.60 introductoryUnlimited traffic, 200 Mbit/s portSee provider
OVHcloud2 vCores, 4 GB, 40 GB NVMe, $5.35Unlimited traffic, 500 Mbit/s portNone stated
Vultr1 vCPU, 1 GB, 25 GB SSD, $51 TB allowance, port not publishedSee provider
Hostinger1 vCPU, 4 GB, 50 GB NVMe, $6.49 on a 24-month term4 TB allowanceSee provider

Each row is from that provider's own pages as recorded on this site, with dates in the linked reviews. The comparison is of published figures only; no row contains a measurement, because this site makes none.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does an IONOS VPS cost?

In September 2026 IONOS lists five VPS+ plans with a regular monthly price and a promotional price for the first three months on a one-year term: VPS S+ $6 ($2 promotional, 1 vCore, 2 GB, 60 GB NVMe), M+ $14 ($5, 2 vCores, 4 GB, 120 GB), L+ $25 ($8, 4 vCores, 8 GB, 240 GB), XL+ $47 ($14, 8 vCores, 16 GB, 480 GB) and XXL+ $68 ($20, 12 vCores, 24 GB, 720 GB). The promotional figure is the one advertised; the regular figure is what the plan costs from month four.

Does IONOS include unlimited traffic?

Yes, with a port limit rather than a data limit. IONOS's own wording: "Transfer as much data as you need with a 1 Gbps connection. No extra charges, no matter how much your traffic grows." Its feature list gives the same figure as "External server connection up to 1 Gbps". That makes IONOS one of the few VPS hosts at this price to publish both an unlimited allowance and the port speed behind it; the network page compares that against what other providers publish.

Where are IONOS's US datacentres?

The VPS feature list names countries rather than cities: "Data center locations United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Spain". IONOS CLOUD's datacentre page lists three US sites, Las Vegas (NV), Newark (NJ) and Lenexa (KS), alongside its European ones. Which of those carry the VPS+ product is not stated on the pages this site read, so ask before ordering if a specific city matters.

Is there a trial or refund?

Both, in IONOS's words. Its VPS USA page: "At IONOS, your US VPS includes a free trial for 30 days, so that you can make sure that we're the right service for you. If you're not happy you'll get your money back, no questions asked!" The plan list carries the same thing as a "30-day money-back guarantee". After that you "can choose from month-to-month or yearly contracts".

Does IONOS have snapshots and backups?

It publishes both, under its own names. "High-Speed Images" are described as "full server images for quick recovery. These images function as point-in-time snapshots, enabling a system rollback if updates fail." Cloud Backup is a paid option, listed in the feature table "From $0.065/GB/month". Add-ons in the same list include block storage, object storage, a load balancer, a private network and additional VMs.

Does this page have benchmark scores?

No. An earlier version of this page reported a sysbench CPU score, disk IOPS, iperf3 throughput and a 90-day uptime figure said to come from monitoring two US datacentres. Those measurements were not made, and the page now carries only what IONOS publishes. The benchmarks hub explains the rule and the network page shows how to measure a server yourself.

Sources

Quoted phrases and figures are from the IONOS pages below, read on 2026-09-22. The first-year total in section 1 is arithmetic on IONOS's own two prices and is labelled as such. Comparison rows are from this site's verified pages for those providers. This site publishes no measurements.