Contabo VPS Specs (2026): Port Speeds, Snapshots and US Datacentres, as Contabo Publishes Them

Contabo sells more memory per dollar than anything else this site tracks, and publishes more about its network than most hosts at any price. This page collects what it states: the plan ladder, the port speed attached to each plan, the snapshot count, the three US datacentres and the contract terms, read from Contabo's own pages in September 2026. No measurements; the review covers the buying decision.

✓ Published figures only
✓ Euro price and converted figures labelled separately
✓ Updated September 2026

Short answer

  • Entry plan: Cloud VPS 4, 4 vCPU, 8 GB, 100 GB SSD, one snapshot, 200 Mbit/s port, unlimited traffic.
  • Price: €4.40 excluding VAT for the first 24 months (€5.50 including VAT as displayed). Every dollar figure is a conversion at an implied rate of 1.20, not a Contabo quote.
  • Network: unlimited traffic on every plan, port speed 200 Mbit/s to 1 Gbit/s by plan, "Fair usage policies apply".
  • US sites: Seattle WA, St. Louis MO, Carlstadt NJ, each with a 100 Gbit/s uplink.
  • Snapshots: one, two or three depending on plan; Auto Backup is a separate product.
  • Not published: CPU model per plan, disk IOPS, and the price after the 24-month term.

1. The plan ladder, with the port speed attached

Contabo's Cloud VPS page puts cores, memory, storage, snapshots, port speed and traffic in one table. Reproduced as published, September 2026:

PlanvCPU / RAM / storageSnapshotsPortTrafficMonthly, first 24 months (excl. VAT)
Cloud VPS 44 / 8 GB / 100 GB SSD1200 Mbit/sUnlimited*€4.40
Cloud VPS 66 / 12 GB / 200 GB SSD2300 Mbit/sUnlimited*€6.00
Cloud VPS 88 / 24 GB / 300 GB SSD3600 Mbit/sUnlimited*€11.20
Cloud VPS 1212 / 48 GB / 400 GB SSD3800 Mbit/sUnlimited*€20.00
Cloud VPS 1616 / 64 GB / 500 GB SSD31 Gbit/sUnlimited*€29.60
Cloud VPS 1818 / 96 GB / 600 GB SSD31 Gbit/sUnlimited*€39.20

The asterisk is Contabo's own, attached to "Unlimited Traffic*"; its explanation is that fair usage policies apply. Storage can be extended at extra cost ("More storage available" on every row).

Two things stand out against the rest of this site. The memory per dollar is unmatched: 8 GB at the entry plan, where Vultr's $10 plan has 2 GB and InterServer's $6 has 4 GB. And the port speed climbs with the plan rather than being fixed, so the cheapest plan is also the slowest link, at a fifth of what the top plans get.

2. Prices, VAT and currency

Contabo prices in euros and shows VAT explicitly. Every card carries both figures, as in Cloud VPS 4 at "€5.50 ... €4.40 ... Including VAT / Excluding VAT ... for the first 24 months". US buyers do not pay EU VAT, so the excluding-VAT figure is the one that applies. The page's own embedded price data converts it: {"GBP":4.32,"EUR":4.4,"USD":5.28}.

The euro price is the fixed fact; every dollar figure is a conversion. Divide them and the arithmetic is plain: $5.28 ÷ €4.40 and $6.60 ÷ €5.50 both give an implied rate of 1.20, so the two dollar figures differ because one converts the VAT-exclusive euro price and the other the VAT-inclusive one, not because a rate moved between readings. Which of those a US order pays depends on the tax treatment Contabo applies to a US buyer, and the price after the 24-month term is not printed on the card at all. This site has not observed a US checkout and does not state what one settles at; if the exact amount matters, take it from Contabo rather than from any conversion here.

3. Unlimited traffic, limited port

Contabo's summary sentence: "Every Cloud VPS plan comes with unlimited inbound and outbound data transfer. Port speeds run from 200 Mbit/s up to 1 Gbit/s. Fair usage policies apply." Free firewall and DDoS protection are listed on the same page, along with a "99.9% Uptime" claim, which is Contabo's statement rather than a measurement.

The shape of that offer is the opposite of most US hosts: no monthly transfer ceiling, a port that is modest at the entry plan. The network figures page puts it next to OVHcloud (500 Mbit/s on the entry plan, also unlimited), Linode (a 1,000 Mbps cap with a 1 TB allowance) and Vultr (an allowance with no published port). For a site serving pages, 200 Mbit/s is not the constraint; for a download or media host, it is the first thing to check, and the answer is to buy a larger plan rather than more transfer.

4. The three US datacentres

Contabo's United States locations page names all three: "With Data Centers in Seattle, St. Louis, and Carlstadt, you can get low latency throughout North America. With ping as low as 3 ms, we serve all major metropolitan areas". Its detail list:

RegionCityUplinkWhat Contabo lists
United States (West)Seattle, WA100 Gbit/sRedundant power supply, diesel generator and UPS, fire detection and suppression
United States (Central)St. Louis, MO100 Gbit/sRedundant power supply, diesel generator and UPS, fire detection and suppression
United States (East)Carlstadt, New Jersey100 Gbit/sN+1 redundant power, cooling and UPS; Tier 3; pre-action dry pipe fire suppression; 24/7 onsite security and CCTV

St. Louis is the interesting one: central US sites are rare among budget hosts, and it is the reason Contabo appears on this site's East Coast and West Coast pages at once. The "ping as low as 3 ms" is Contabo's claim about its metros, not a measurement by this site; section 6 is how to check it for your own users.

5. Snapshots and Auto Backup

The plan table gives a snapshot allowance per plan: one on Cloud VPS 4, two on Cloud VPS 6, three from Cloud VPS 8 upwards. Contabo also sells Auto Backup as a separate line (its plan table offers "VPS with Auto Backup" as an alternative column) and describes it as daily off-server backups, with snapshots for instant rollback.

The distinction matters more than the count. A snapshot lives on the same infrastructure as the server and protects against your own mistakes; an off-server backup protects against the infrastructure. Contabo is one of the few budget hosts to sell both, which is worth noting against InterServer, which advertises neither and leaves both to you.

6. Measuring it, including Contabo's own suggestion

Contabo answers the network question with a self-test rather than a number. From its US locations FAQ: "How can I check the connection speed to each Region? Please go to speedtest.net and search for 'Contabo'. Then select 'Carlstadt, NJ' or 'Se[attle]'..." That is the fastest way to see latency and throughput from your own connection to each of its three US sites before you order.

After you order, the commands on the benchmarks hub measure the server itself: sysbench cpu --threads=1 --time=60 run for single-thread CPU, a 4K fio run for the disk, and iperf3 against a machine near your users. Contabo bills monthly at minimum, so a test costs a month rather than an hour; the 24-month advertised rate is a term, not a commitment to stay (see section 7).

7. Contract terms

Contabo publishes these as a single line: "Minimum initial contract length: 1 month | Minimum following contract length: Equal to the initial contract length | Minimum cancellation notice: None (pre-paid) or 4 weeks (post-paid)". Read with the "for the first 24 months" on the price cards, that means the advertised rate is tied to a 24-month term while the contract itself can be taken monthly, and the renewal price is not stated. If the price after the term matters to your budget, ask before ordering; this site's terms and renewals page covers how the same trick differs across hosts.

8. What Contabo does not publish

  • A CPU model per plan. The Core VPS line states vCPU counts only; the Performance and Max Performance lines name AMD EPYC models on their own cards.
  • Disk IOPS or throughput. The Core line lists "SSD" and a capacity, nothing else; the storage page shows how normal that is.
  • The price after 24 months.
  • A typical network throughput figure. The port speed is a ceiling; only Hetzner publishes an expectation.
  • Setup fees by term on the plan card. Where a setup fee applies it appears in the order flow, not in the table this page reproduces.

Frequently Asked Questions

What port speed does a Contabo VPS get?

It rises with the plan. Contabo's Cloud VPS page lists "200 Mbit/s Port" on Cloud VPS 4, then 300, 600 and 800 Mbit/s, and "1 Gbit/s Port" on Cloud VPS 16 and 18. Its summary: "Every Cloud VPS plan comes with unlimited inbound and outbound data transfer. Port speeds run from 200 Mbit/s up to 1 Gbit/s. Fair usage policies apply." That makes the plan ladder a network ladder as much as a memory ladder, which matters if you move large files rather than serve pages.

Where are Contabo's US datacentres?

Three, and Contabo names the cities: "With Data Centers in Seattle, St. Louis, and Carlstadt, you can get low latency throughout North America." Its detail list gives them as United States (West) in Seattle WA, United States (Central) in St. Louis MO and United States (East) in Carlstadt, New Jersey, each with a "100 Gbit/s Uplink"; the Carlstadt entry adds "Tier 3 Data Center" and "24/7 Onsite Security Staff + CCTV".

How much does Contabo cost in dollars?

Contabo sets the price in euros: €5.50 a month including VAT or €4.40 excluding it for Cloud VPS 4, "for the first 24 months". The dollar figures are conversions of those two amounts at an implied rate of 1.20, which is why the page's own data converts the entry plan to $5.28 while this site's earlier check recorded $6.60: one converts the net price, the other the gross. Which basis a US order pays, and whether it settles in USD at all, has not been verified here; take the figure from Contabo rather than from a converted number.

Does Contabo include snapshots and backups?

Snapshots, yes, by plan: one on Cloud VPS 4, two on Cloud VPS 6 and three on Cloud VPS 8 and above, per the plan table. Auto Backup is a separate product Contabo sells alongside the VPS (its plan table has a "VPS with Auto Backup" column), and it describes the service as daily off-server backups. A snapshot on the same host is not a backup; the backup guide covers the difference.

Is Contabo's price an introductory price?

The advertised rate is "for the first 24 months", so it is introductory in the sense that the term ends and the price after it is not printed on the plan card. The contract terms Contabo publishes are separate: "Minimum initial contract length: 1 month | Minimum following contract length: Equal to the initial contract length | Minimum cancellation notice: None (pre-paid) or 4 weeks (post-paid)". Read those two together before assuming a monthly commitment.

Does this page have benchmark scores?

No. An earlier version reported a six-month sysbench average of 3,500 with weekly variance, 20,000 write IOPS, throughput figures and peak-hour CPU throttling. Those measurements were not made and have been removed. Contabo publishes port speeds, snapshot counts and uplinks; everything else on this page is one of those. To measure a server, the benchmarks hub has the commands, and Contabo itself points at a public speed test (see section 6).

Sources

Quoted phrases and figures are from the Contabo pages below, read on 2026-09-22 from a European exit, which is why the prices arrived in euros; the dollar figure is from the price data embedded in the same page. This site publishes no measurements.